§65. License renewal

All licenses issued under this chapter, except temporary licenses, expire annually on a date established by the commissioner and become invalid if not renewed. Every individual licensed under this chapter shall pay, on or before the expiration date, the license renewal fee as set under section 67. Renewals are contingent upon evidence of participation in continuing professional education. A license may be renewed up to 90 days after the date of its expiration upon payment of a late fee in addition to the renewal fee. An individual who submits an application for renewal more than 90 days after the license expiration date is subject to all requirements governing new applicants under this chapter, except that the board may, in its discretion and giving due consideration to the protection of the public, waive examination if that renewal application is received, together with the late fee and renewal fee, within 2 years from the date of the expiration. [PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. E, §5 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1971, c. 184 (NEW). PL 1971, c. 544, §111 (RP). PL 1985, c. 233, §6 (NEW). PL 1993, c. 600, §A33 (AMD). PL 2001, c. 323, §13 (AMD). PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. E, §5 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.