§204. Deed lost before recording

If a deed, duly executed and delivered, is lost or destroyed before being recorded, the grantee or person claiming under him may file a copy of it in the registry of deeds in the county where the land lies. It shall have the same effect as a record for 90 days. He may thereupon proceed to have the depositions of the subscribing witnesses and others knowing the facts taken, as depositions are taken in perpetuam; but if any person supposed to have an adverse interest lives out of the State in an unknown place, the Superior Court may order notice of the taking of such depositions by publication as it deems proper. The filing and recording of such depositions and copy within said 90 days shall have the same effect as if the deed itself had been recorded when said copy was first filed. Certified copies thereof are evidence when the original would be.

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Legislature and is current through October 15, 2024. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.